© The Engineers' Council 2017
The Engineers' Council | The Engineers’ Council
page-template-default,page,page-id-35,page-parent,qode-listing-1.0.1,qode-social-login-1.0,qode-news-1.0,qode-quick-links-1.0,qode-restaurant-1.0,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode_grid_1300,side_area_uncovered_from_content,footer_responsive_adv,qode-content-sidebar-responsive,qode-theme-ver-12.0.1,qode-theme-bridge,bridge,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-5.4.2,vc_responsive

The Engineers’ Council



In 1955, just before the dawn of the Space Age, The Engineers’ Council was founded (originally San Fernando Valley Engineers’ Council) as a mutual benefit society through the joint efforts of the California Society of Professional Engineers, the American Institute of Plant Engineers, the Society of Manufacturing Engineers and the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers.


The mission was, as it still is today, to 1) Advance the art and science of engineering for the general welfare of humankind, 2) Advance the welfare of the general public through the creative resources and abilities of the engineering professions, 3) Inform the general public of the advantages and capabilities of engineering in advancing human welfare, and 4) Provide suitable public recognition of engineering achievement through the coordinated efforts of Academia, Private Sector companies, Government Agencies, Individuals, and Technical Society Affiliates.


From those initial joint technical society meetings, the Engineers’ Council’s technical society participation has greatly increased and our philanthropic activities have evolved into our current year-round activities which include funding scholarships for graduating high school seniors seeking to pursue STEM degrees in college, supporting high school mentoring programs, sponsoring middle-school math and science educational enrichment programs, supporting activities that bring STEM alive through hands-on engagement, and partnering with other organizations to provide scholarships to summer STEM activities.


These activities are made possible by the proceeds of the annual Honors and Awards Banquet. Through the years, The Engineers’ Council has presented thousands of awards recognizing outstanding contributions by individuals in our community and throughout the world in the fields of engineering, education, and special fields of work and public service.


The Engineers’ Council is an IRS 501c(3) Nonprofit California Corporation.


Technical Societies

American Institute for Aeronautics & Astronautics, San Fernando Pacific Section

The American Society for Quality,  San Fernando Valley Section

ASM International, San Fernando Valley Chapter

California society of Professional Engineers, Southern Chapters Council

Computer and Automated Systems Association of the SME, Orange Coast Section

Institute of Electrical & Electronics Engineers, San Fernando Valley Section

International Council on Systems Engineering (INCOSE)

National Society of Black Engineers, Inland Empire Area Chapter

Society of Hispanic Professional Engineers, Greater San Fernando Valley Chapter

Society of Manufacturing Engineers, Northern Los Angeles and Ventura County Chapter

Society of Women Engineers, Los Angeles Section

American Association for Artificial Intelligence

Other Engineering Councils

Affiliate Societies Council of Dayton

Armenian Engineers & Scientists of America

Canton Joint Engineering Council (Ohio)

Chicagoland Engineers Week Committee (Illinois)

Orange County Engineering Council (California)

Richmond Joint Engineers Council (Virginia)

Silicon Valley Engineering Council (California)

Affiliated Organizations


California State University Northridge, College of Engineering & Computer Science

General Chuck Yeager Foundation


The Boeing Company

Lockheed Martin Aeronautics Company

Northrop Grumman Integrated Systems

Prat & Whitney Rocketdyne

Government Agency

Air Force Flight Test Center, Edwards Air Force Base

NASA Jet Propulsion Laboratory

California Institute of Technology